Instant Pot Roast

IMG_3390.JPG

This girl may look like sugar, but her antics are the reason I forgot to take a picture of the easiest, tastiest roast ever. I brought it to a holiday potluck this weekend fully intending to take a picture, but, this girl spent the entire time trying to escape the building. By the time I remembered, there was hardly anything left to show. I hope that means people liked it!

I have to give credit to my mom for this one; she always made roast in the slow cooker with these ingredients, and I’ve adapted it to the Instant Pot. This recipe takes longer than most of my pressure cooker recipes, but it is much quicker than an all-day roast.

When I first got the Instant Pot, I would try to make this roast and I ended up taking the lid on and off several times to get it cooked long enough to tenderize. My Instant Pot guide book said that you can cook a roast in 25-30 minutes. The roast is fully cooked after 30 minutes, but I think it takes closer to an hour to get it tender.

Ingredients

  • 2-3 lb chuck roast
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 1 packet of onion soup mix (I used Lipton)
  • 2-3 cups of baby carrots*
  • 8 red potatoes, cut in cubes (about 2 lbs of potatoes) *

Instructions

  1. Pour the cream of mushroom soup, water and onion soup mix packet into the pot. Stir.
  2. Add the roast and coat it in the mixture.
  3. Put the lid on, seal, and cook on Meat/Stew for 55 minutes.
  4. After 55 minutes, remove lid, turn off and add your vegetables.
  5. Put the lid back on, seal and cook on “manual” for 8 more minutes.
  6. Salt and Pepper to taste! (I only added pepper.) The meat should slice/shred pretty easily and be ready to serve.

*The vegetables here are optional! The roast alone is great on crusty bread or served over rice. But, if you are doing vegetables you really have to wait and do them at the end or they will be way too mushy.

If your roast is over 3 lbs, you may want to try 60 minutes.

Leave a Reply

